Entertainment, Picture, Uncategorized

Compare With Care

I feel like too often we compare ourselves to things we see on the internet. Whether it’s people, creative Pinterest crafts, or events that we see, it seems like we look upon these things with an immediate sense of inferiority. I can call myself a victim to this- I often look through Pinterest and think to myself, “Wow, there is no way in Hell I’ll ever be that crafty.” It isn’t just mason jar art that I compare myself to negatively- I do just the same with people I see on Facebook, Twitter, all the social media of the like. And what’s worse is that I don’t recognize that I’m putting myself down, I’m simply seeing it as a statement of fact. It’s this kind of thought process that is so discouraging; why is it that I feel the need to compare myself to these people that I don’t know and these things I don’t have?

I’m not saying I’m not confident, and I’m not saying other people who compare themselves to others on the internet are not confident either. It’s just an interesting situation to see that even within small things, it is common to compare yourself to that thing. Comparisons are not necessarily a bad thing-  it’s good to self-evaluate and if you see a trait in someone that could improve your personal sense of self, then I think you should go for it. I have three words to leave you with: compare with care.

tumblr_mv83w11K5D1qinci0o1_400

Standard

Leave a Reply

