Entertainment, Video

Why Raven-Symoné Was Disney’s Greatest Achievement

I remember a time long , long ago, when Disney wasn’t just all musicals and the shows on the Disney Channel covered topics like the trials and tribulations of growing up a teenage girl, or that racial inequality was still present. The show That’s So Raven was a dream come true for all those reasons- Raven was a strong, curvy, African American women who wasn’t afraid to stand up for what she believed in and chase after her dreams. How often do you see that anymore?

The video below is an exert from the movie Cheetah Girls, a movie about a diverse group of young girls trying to make it big in the music industry. I know, I know, a Disney musical, not original at all. But the message that this movie gave is powerful and commonly overlooked because it was a Disney Channel movie. It was a message that gave me hope, that I could go on and reach my fullest potential, but I could do it on my terms, without changing my appearance or compromise my dream.

Raven Symoné was a Disney hero, and still a personal hero to this day. Rest with grace, Cheetah Girls, rest with grace.

Standard

Leave a Reply

